September 2018 Newsletter

Officer Reports

President’s Report (Wayne Sluhan)
No report

Vice-President’s Report (Mike Gapsch)
Short meeting due the MDC rep presenting on CWD and Fawn Recruitment. See officer nominations below.

Secretary Report (Malcolm Grundy)
Share your pics & stories in the woods on our club Facebook site: South County Archers St. Louis. If you are not already on there go to the site and send me a request to join. Also, please invite other to like and join our site as well. Secondly, you can also email your harvest photos to so we can upload to a gallery site that we are putting together. Be on the lookout for updates to our website and social media pages. Lastly, if you know someone who you feel would be a good fit for our club please invite them to attend our functions and help sponsor them to become active members. Also, if anyone would like to purchase SCA apparel we have hats, polo shirts & T-shirts available for purchase. See Jon for details & to check available sizes.

Treasurer’s Report (Henry Drane)
The club is very sound on the target fund. Also in good position on the club side. We are approaching the dead period of expenses without income as the raffles and fun shoots come to an end for the fall and winter.

Range Captain’s Report (Tom Munroe)
No report

Master Bowhunter Recorder (Ken Winkelman)
Don’t forget to report all harvests to Ken, as the season is right around the corner.

Park Representative Report (Tom Rizzo)
No report

Membership Secretary Report (Jon Adams)
No report

Tournament Secretary Report (Shane Walz)
No report

New Business/Old Business

Frank Krejci’s father passed. Arrangements on Saturday Sept 8th.

Quail Club John Wood Memorial shoot scheduled for Sunday Sept 9th. Club hunt upcoming and member prices updated. Please see Henry Drane for details.

Fred Gerber @ Mercy Hospital with an allergic reaction to some medication

Nominations for 2019 Officers:
President — Jon Adams, Mike Gapsh
Vice President — Mike Gapsch, Joe Maddock, Malcolm Grundy
Secretary — Malcolm Grundy, Joe Maddock
Treasurer — Henry Drane
Range Captain– Tom Munroe, Jim Keener
Tournament Secretary — Shane Walz
Parks Representative — Tom Rizzo
Master Bow Recorder — Ken Winkelman
Membership Secretary — Jon Adams, Mary Taylor

Motion made to adjourn.


2018 South County Archers Current officers:
President Wayne Sluhan
Vice President Mike Gapsch
Secretary Malcolm Grundy
Range Captain Tom Munroe
Range Co-Captain Jim Keener
Tournament Secretary Shane Walz
Treasurer Henry Drane
Membership Secretary Jon Adams
Parks Representative Tom Rizzo
Master Bowhunter Recorder Ken Winkelman

SCA Calendar of Events 2018

January 23, 2018 Indoor Archery League at The Bow Shop-10 weeks
February 8-11, 2018 Boat & Sport show event @ Americas Center
February 17, 2018 Work Day, meet 6:00am-?? Meet at the Pavilion
March 3, 2018 Back-up Work Day. (Same as above)
March 10, 2018 March Madness 3D Archery Tournament (8:00a-12:00p)
March 25, 2018 Awards Banquet-($25/person @ Genesis on Telegraph)
April 4,-October 3, 2018 Fun Shoots at JB (every Wednesday starts around 4pm)
June 9, 2018 Kids Shoot (9-10:30a beginner-11-12:30p intermediate)
June 23, 2018 Mid- Summer Classic 3D Tournament (8:00a-12:00p)
July 14, 2018 Kids Shoot (9-10:30a beginner-11-12:30p intermediate)
August (TBD) Charlie Sharp Coon Shoot (Members Only Shoot)
August 11, 2018 Kids Shoot (9-10:30a beginner-11-12:30p intermediate)
August 18, 2018 Annual Deer Classic at JB (8a-12:00p)
August (TBD) John Woods Memorial 3D Tournament (Members Only)
October 11-14, 2018 SCA Club Hunting Trip (Mark Twain Lake) $$$/person

Meeting held the 1st Thursday of every month at Oakville Elks Lodge- 2726 Elks Lane-St. Louis, Mo 63129 7:30pm Start time.

Contact us:

-Like us on our FACEBOOK page-

Dave Amelung
Mary Armbruster
Terry Avery
Ken Barrett Sr.
Mike Cimo
Kerry Cook
Henry Drane
Mike Gapsch
Malcolm Grundy
Don Hatcher
Jim Keener
Zach King
Jack Klimczyk
Krank Krejci
Richard Kurtzeborn
Joe Maddock
Tom Munroe
Alex Mueller
Tom Muehlenkamp
Thomas Poisson
Greg Rodermund
Albert Sanders
Russell Siebert
Christine Sudduth
Mary Taylor
Tony Taylor
John VanFange
Frank Wagner
Shane Walz
Brian Winkelman
Greg Winkelman
Ken Winkelman
William Wirtanen
Scott Brengard
Lindsay Brengard
Mike House
Mark Knapp
Andrew Berwin
Kevin Frute

If I misspelled anyone’s name, please forgive me and feel free to send me the correct spelling.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s